Howard Writes:

Just out of curiosity, are you guys for or against gay marriage. And please offer your rationale. Either way.

Well Howard, for one thing, my partner and I will wind up together no matter what. The thing is that there are many rights that heterosexual couples take advantage of automatically that gay couples are denied. I really don’t care if we call it marriage or civil unions or whatever as long as we can get those same rights as well.

My thing is that I have no idea why I’m supposed to believe that we’ll get it by default for voting for “Democrats”. I see no evidence that we will get anything from the current liberal virus in America. They gave us the Defense of Marriage Act and numerous states with liberal governors aren’t doing a damn thing to stop anti-gay marriage legislation. Even their last candidate for president was for it before he was against it.

Also, I really don’t see how supporting women’s rights and abortion (HRC) is going to get us anywhere. That’s just me, however. I’m not as intelligent and nuanced as the liberal elitists are.

 

Explore posts in the same categories:

4 Comments on “Howard Writes:”

  1. Howard Says:

    Thanks, Rob.

    I’m fascinated by your almost hysterical attitude toward liberals. Were you mugged by someone wearing a peace sign or something?

    I think you exaggerate immensely about this “liberal virus” running rampant in the US. Just as one example, there are more than 1500 conversative radio talk shows, and fewer than a dozen liberal ones.

    Sure, the big national newspapers (NYTimes, DC Post, LA Times) have left-leaning editorial pages, but the corporate owners of these papers and the broadcast networks are solidly conservative. And the conservatives have their own network, Fox. All the others are too afraid of losing advertising revenue to veer too far one way or another, in spite of the right’s protests to the contrary.

    More to the point, you seem to see the world in black and white. Liberals vs. conservatives, and no middle ground.

    I agree that Democrats deserve no automatic status as the best defenders of glbt rights. On the other hand, no one else is standing up on our behalf either. Certainly not the right, although I’ll bet you miss Barry Goldwater now, who had an enlightened attitude.

    Congrats to you and your partner. I, too, support gay marriage or civil unions for the sole reason that we should be treated as equals to straight couples. I just wish we could have chosen a more pressing issue, such as the shamefully high rate of suicide among glbt youth, or employment discrimination. These are things that matter to more of us than marriage, but that’s just me. I mean, what’s the point of being able to have a civil union if I could lose my job because I’m gay? I happen to work for a forward-thinking company, but others aren’t so fortunate.

    Someone once said that if you aren’t a liberal when you’re young, you don’t have a heart, and if you’re not a conservative when you’re older, you don’t have a brain (was it Churchill?). I was pretty liberal when I was in high school and college; I’m definitely not liberal today, but I’m not “a conservative” either. I guess that means I’ve got only half a brain.

    Thanks again, Rob. I do enjoy visiting your blog, even if you are a drama queen when it comes to liberals.

    Howard


  2. I’m fascinated by your almost hysterical attitude toward liberals. Were you mugged by someone wearing a peace sign or something?

    No, just sick of the bullshit and I don’t think I’m being hysterical at all. In fact, they’re the hysterical ones blaming Bush for everything that happens and trying to convince us that nothing happened before Jan. 19, 2001. Also, when you start playing political games with our national security, I’m gonna get pissed.

    there are more than 1500 conversative radio talk shows, and fewer than a dozen liberal ones.

    Know why? Because nobody wants to listen to the doom and gloom from the left. If anybody actually wanted to listen to liberal talk shows, Err Amerika wouldn’t be in the toilet and there’d be more liberal talk shows. I don’t know for sure, but I doubt that there are 1500 conservative shows and I’d be willing to bet that there are more than a dozen liberal ones.

    Sure, the big national newspapers (NYTimes, DC Post, LA Times) have left-leaning editorial pages, but the corporate owners of these papers and the broadcast networks are solidly conservative.

    And?

    And the conservatives have their own network, Fox.

    The libs have CBS-BS, NBC-BS, ABC-BS, CNN-BS, NPR-BS, PMSNBC-BS etc. The question is, which one has the ratings? Fox. Why do they have the ratings? Because folks are tired of the BS networks.

    If you don’t have the ratings, you don’t get the advertisers.

    More to the point, you seem to see the world in black and white. Liberals vs. conservatives, and no middle ground.

    If there is a viable middle ground, I’m open to it. However, I have little interest in what the liberals call “middle ground”.

    As for the rest of your post, I pretty much agree with it. However, I’m to young to “miss” Goldwater and to be honest, I don’t know that much about him. I get the sneaking suspicion though that I should.

    A few years ago, I worked for one of the legacy airlines that had partner benies and what not. It was great that my partner and I could travel together. It was interesting because I had never worked in such a large office before and had never worked with so many other gays. Sometimes it seemed like a week didn’t go by that I didn’t find out that another co-worker was gay. No, we were not flight attendants, BTW. Oh, I also kept a picture of my partner at my desk. Even though that may not seem to be a big deal, I felt proud that I could put his pic on my desk every day (we didn’t have designated desks, so I had to take it home every day).

     

  3. LWordLover Says:

    “Also, I really don’t see how supporting women’s rights and abortion (HRC) is going to get us anywhere. That’s just me, however. I’m not as intelligent and nuanced as the liberal elitists are.”

    Gee, Rob, I didn’t see how supporting AIDS related causes got we lesbians anywhere but we did it for solidarity reasons. If we look at the outcome of that – a united gay front – government was motivated to step in. Oh, that’s right, you believe in the government not interfering – unless it’s for those things you support?


  4. Oh that’s right. Silly me. I forgot lesbians are immune to AIDS.

    Am I to understand that the government only got involved with AIDS research because of a “united gay front”?


Leave a Reply

