It’s Tarantino-riffic!

So I watched Reservoir Dogs this morning on IFC. As with any other Tarantino film, I don't get it. Problem is, I'm not even sure what I didn't get, as with any other Tarantino film. I dunno.

I'm glad I saw it, but I wouldn't go out of my way to watch it again.

Call me crazy, but I kept having this feeling that Dennis Leary should have been cast as Mr. Orange. I dunno why, but I do think that.

Explore posts in the same categories:

4 Comments on “It’s Tarantino-riffic!”

  1. Wickedpinto Says:

    I have absolutely no doubt whatsoever, that Tarantino thought that “reservoir Dogs” was a modern rashoman.

    Quentin thinks he’s better than he is. Though, he ain’t friggen bad, as long as all you want is samurai movies, and blacksploitation films.

    Reservoir Dogs, was 7 depictions of a single story of betrayal, finalized by the betrayor telling the story as he saw it. Thats the same as Kurisawa’s “rashoman”

  2. Wickedpinto Says:

    Actually thinking of it, I wouldn’t be surprised if “dusk till dawn” wasn’t a PATHETIC attempt at “shichi nin no samurai”/”magnificent seven”/a million other movies. I think of the part in “swingers” when John Favreau’s character, I think said “Tarantino is so derivative it’s called plagiarism!”


  3. Since I have no earthly idea what you’re talking about, I’ll take your word on it.

  4. Wickedpinto Says:

    Akira Kurisawa.

    He made a bunch of movies in japan that everyone loves now. He’s one of the bench marks that a lot of people latch onto for great story telling in film. If you’ve ever seen magnificent seven, you saw 7 samurai (a kurisawa movie) translated into a western rather than a samurai movie. If you’ve seen, I think high plains drifter, or that bruce willis movie where he plays the two gangs that run a town against each other, then you’ve basicaly seen “Yojimbo” another kurisawa movie, and Reservoir Dogs, is “Rashoman”

    The basic story of rashoman, is that a horrible crime happened, and a bunch of people run into eachother in the woods, they then tell why they are all alone in the woods traveling, and it turns out that they were all affected by the events in the horrible crime. The last person to talk was the one who actually knew what happened. It’s a popular story because it uses film to tell a bunch of versions of the same story, and usually this is done to take all of the different views and create a truth, but Rashoman is good because it takes all of the stories and points out that a persons perspective is always imperfect.


Leave a Reply

